Took my first Hatha Yoga class

I took my very first yoga class today.  I must admit I felt more than a little out of my element.  I surreptitiously crept to the back of the room.  I grabbed a mat, a blanket that looked like it was for a horse/was wondering what it was for in the 90 plus degree heat,  and bolster pillow. I felt a little creeped out during downward dog where I felt like I had no personal space…was way too close to dirty feet.  It was a diverse range of people in this beginner class. Even some guys!  REPRESENT! One of the guys looked, with all due respect like Willy Nelson meets the Dhali Lama. There were rocks and bamboo and objects placed in the window sill. Is that supposed feng shui?  Not sure what that’s all about. I’m pretty good about deep breathing but everyone was doing so audibly. Found it somewhat disconcerting. I’m a singer so that concept of diaphramatic breath  is pretty much ingrained.  At my first voice lesson twenty four years ago, my teacher (Hi Mrs. Weeks!) made me lie on the floor with a dictionary on my stomach.  So breathing…no sweat. The tough part was getting my mind to shut up. I could handle most of the poses.  Was totally unprepared, in a great way, with how relaxes I was afterwards. I’m most emphatically not the new-agey, hippy type (not to categorize folks there).  I just don’t know if I buy into the yoga stimulating thryoid, stretches massaging organs etc.  I’m willing to be converted, but I have my doubts.  Still on the fence if I’ll do the training this fall. I’ve also been doing Pilates and I like the spine/core strenghening.  I know yoga would be really good for me.  Everyone tells me so. Also I can’t help but feel guilty that I’d be leaving our new son alone too much with the time it takes to do training.  More to come.

Leave a Reply

